Never give up on hope.

February 8, 2015

Dear Little Baby,

The doctors explained to Mommy and Daddy that because you were so early, the prognosis was very grim. The doctors tried to convince Mommy that “delivering now” (knowing that you would not live–in other words, having an abortion) was not “the wrong choice.” They told me about all the bad things that could happen, all of the risks, and all of the statistics. But they didn’t tell me about any of the good stories that happened from cases like ours. Mommy told them that their option WAS NOT an option. Even if the chances aren’t good, I can’t just give up on you. Even if there was only half a percent of a chance that you are going to make it, I have to take that chance. I can’t give up without a fight, and I don’t expect you will either. You are my baby and I am your mommy, and we’re going to fight the odds together.

When the doctors left, Aixa (the nurse) told me about a lady that ruptured before I did, made it all the way to 34 weeks, and delivered a healthy baby. So here’s to fighting the odds, Little Baby.

Mommy

Leave a Reply

