Never give up on hope.

February 25, 2015

Dear Little Baby,

This morning, I went through what is now our normal morning routine: at 10am, I get my shot in the stomach, take my temperature, and then find your heartbeat. This morning, your heartbeat was bouncing back and forth between 155 and 160. And it was strong. And it was loud. It was reassuring. It was right where it has been all along, so you are still hanging on, still defying all of the odds. Now, your older sister is sitting in the highchair eating apple sauce and a banana. It made me think of the nursery rhyme “Apples and Bananas.” So I went to Youtube and put it on for her to dance to. Applesauce and bananas are Cayce’s favorite food. I wonder what your favorite food is going to be? Are you going to have to have a feeding tube? Will you even be able to have a favorite food? I’m getting ahead of myself, Little Baby. With the way you have already proven to be a little fighter, I have no doubt that you are going to continue to defy the odds and be a happy and healthy little boy or girl. At first, we were planning on naming you Courtnie Claire if you are a girl, but Mommy (finally!) got Daddy to relent on the Courtnie name. I didn’t care much for it. I do like Claire, though. And now, I am thinking that your name has to reflect what a little fighter you are. Claire Hope is an option if you are a girl. But Hope doesn’t reflect the fact that YOU are a fighter and survivor.

Some of the GIRL names that kind of resonate with me are:
Matilda: Mighty in Battle
Evanee: Young Fighter
Ailith: Seasoned Warrior
Maia: Brave Warrior
Vivian: Alive
Claire Matilda (ehh), Claire Evanee (ehh), Claire Ailith (I like it), Claire Maia (ehh), Claire Vivian (I like it).

For a boy name, your dad has had Carter Samuel picked out since before we even got pregnant with you. He is absolutely convinced that you are a boy. But again I want something that reflects how hard you have fought for life. Soo…

Some of the BOY names that resonate with me:
Liam: Strong Willed Warrior
Owen: Warrior
Ethan: Strong
Samuel: God Has Heard (ehh…doesn’t really reflect that you are a fighter…)
Carter Liam (okay…), Carter Owen (probably my favorite), Carter Ethan (like it…), Carter Samuel (like it but the meaning doesn’t resonate with me).

At any rate, Little Baby, you will have a name. And it will be all yours. Hang in there Little Baby. Only 8 more days. I love you SO MUCH.

Mommy

Comments on: "February 25, 2015" (2)

  1. Aiden means “little fire” or “little fiery one”
    😊

    Like

  2. I saw your blog mentioned on a babycenter comment on the July board and just thought I’d pop in and wish you the very best!

    Those are beautiful names you have picked out. So cute. I’m especially a huge fan of the name Matilda. Ever read Roald Dahl’s book? It was my favorite book! Always have loved that name.

    We’re sticking with an old family name for our baby boy, Valere. It’s Latin for “healthy, strong.” Pronounced “Va-lair”. It’s my husband’s name, his grandfather’s name, and the middle name of at least 2 other people in his family. My husband’s grandfather worked in a coal mine, and despite such a rough life, lived to be 97 years old and was healthy right up to the end. I hope that both of our babies can live such long lives!

    Best of luck to you, and know that I’ll be rooting for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

