Never give up on hope.

Dear Human Resources,

My name is Evelyn Shields-Cowley. I recently had the misfortune of delivering my son at your hospital. At 3am on March 3, 2015 I started contracting at 23 weeks and 1 day. The medical team that I presented to made the determination within a very short time of me being on the floor that they were not going to do anything to stop my labor, although I was at the point that the beta methazone shots would have helped me. They would not even stop my labor long enough to get me beta methazone complete. They based their decision on the ASSUMPTION that I had chorioamnionitis, and inflammation of the sac around the baby, although there was NO EVIDENCE to support their theory. I was not running a fever except for a temperature of 100.0 when I was under blankets, flip flopping around, trying to deal with contractions, because they refused to manage my pain (patient right violation number one). Having made my wishes perfectly clear about wanting them the stop my labor, they refused and let me suffer without pain management for over nine and a half hours. At that point, they had stalled so much that my baby was starting to come out. He was crowning at my cervix, and the only reason he had not come out was because I kept refusing to push. After realizing that they had, for all intents and purposes, murdered my child, I pushed him out in one push, knowing that he was too small and his lungs were too immature for him to survive outside of my body. Your medical staff at this hospital murdered my son, and I do not intend to stand idly by and allow men and women that swore a Hippocratic Oath to do no harm get away with MURDER. Something needs to be done to rectify this situation immediately. Please reply. I am also forwarding a copy of this email to the blog with a following of over 2000 views per day, with MANY of those being daily readers with the advice to forward it to their friends and families. I am forwarding this email to a blog page specializing in mothers across the world that are going through the same thing that I went through. I refuse to stand idly by and let a bunch of people that went to school for a long time that have God complexes decide the fate of MY SON against MY WISHES (patient rights violation number two). Please respond.Thank you.

Evelyn Shields-Cowley
(Contact Information Included)

If you would like to add your two cents, you are more than welcome. I have noted an increased number of people (not just on the blog) asking how to get in touch with New Hanover Regional Medical Center. A lot of them already know how to, because a lot of them live in the area. But for those of you that do NOT know how to and would like to. here are some options.

Write a Letter
Go totally old fashioned and put pen to paper to tell them how you REALLY feel. If you do write the letter, address it to the President/CEO (Jack Barto). The mailing address at the hospital is 2131 S. 17th St, Wilmington NC 28401.

Make a Phone Call
Who you call isn’t quite as important, because the bottom line is this: unless you know a guy, you aren’t getting to speak with Jack Barto himself are very slim. You can request to speak with either Human Resources or the Patient Advocates. The Patient Advocates is at (910) 343-7771. For Human Resources, you can call the main line (910) 667-7000 and ask for Human Resources.

Write an Email
Email the Human Resources Department. Go here and choose the option that says “Human Resources” for who to send the message to.

I am not asking anyone to send a letter, make a phone call, or write an email. Let’s be clear about that. But if you would like to, I know that a LOT of you have been just as invested in our story as if you were family. And even though I have never met some of you, I love you all for that. I don’t think that words could ever describe how much it means to me to have people that have never met Carter or myself so invested in Carter’s brief life. I can’t really figure out how to even try to put how grateful I am for that into words. This blog started out to be just for me and for Carter. But it has turned into so much more. Thank you all.

Comments on: "A Scathing Letter to the Human Resources Department of New Hanover Regional Medical Center (Not a Letter to Carter)" (3)

  1. I will be doing so.
    Thank you

    Like

  2. I am very sorry for your loss. If the medical center is JCAHO accredited you can also file a complaint through them. That has a very good chance of getting their attention.

    Like

  3. Barbara Meadows said:

    This hospital has no regard for you and your confidential patient care. They continue to blatantly violate HIPPA and cover for nurses who violate this and then lie about it. People need to complain to the state board of licensing! My requests to talk to a top level person, i.e. Dr. Spicer, have gone unanswered. This is for you, Mr Barlow! I will precede with my report to licensing and the state of North Carolina .

    Like

Leave a Reply

